help!! im a newbie :) - Page 5
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > help!! im a newbie :)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2012, 07:44 PM   #41
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 41 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 230

I honestly believe the minimum caliber that could save your skin by reducing the chances of having a wounded angry BG come after you is a 9mm. And unless restricted by state law there are many handguns in 9mm that have high cap magazines which will give plenty of follow up shots in case the adrenaline flowing in your veins keeps you from having accurate shot placement. If you rely on a .22, .25 or .380 you had better be a dang good shot and be able to hit the eyes, nose, mouth or throat otherwise a wounded BG may come up to you and take the weapon from you and either shoot or beat you with it. If the BG is juiced up on some drug even though wounded unto death they can still take your life. So are you willing to count on small caliber low power firearms or would you rather have something that would more than likely take care of the problem with double tap. By the way I have a .380 but it never goes with me, it's my last resort firearm.

Old 04-10-2012, 08:04 PM   #42

Liked 1004 Times on 705 Posts
Likes Given: 1004

I also think 9mm is the smallest caliber you should consider, or 38 Special if you choose a revolver. Try all the brands you can, at least handle them and operate them with supervision (dry fire with permission). 9mm is the cheapest and most common centerfire pistol caliber and in the right defensive loads it is a manstopper. Definitely try out the Glock 19 or smaller Glock 26. Shoot as many models as you can too.

______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together. You'll remember the quality of a gun long after you forget how much you paid for it.

Old 04-11-2012, 12:48 PM   #43