Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > help!! im a newbie :)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2012, 01:32 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default help!! im a newbie :)

K so..2 years ago if NEVER thought if shoot a gun...well my boyfriend has me hooked! And I'm actually looking at BUYING my first pistol.. I've shot this stepmoms ruger lc9 and I don't like the trigger...or the recoil power...I've been doing some research and maybe you guys can help me out..I've been eyeballin a kahr cw9 but I'm very concearned about the recoil :s are they comparable? And also what are some good beginner double action COMPACT OR SUBCOMPACT (I have small hands so these are way more comfy) hand guns...id like to stay in about the 500 price range and down..

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-03-2012, 03:58 PM   #2

Liked 27 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 7

An important consideration in choosing a handgun is what you want to do with it. Self / home defense? Concealed carry? Plinking, target shooting, or just to have one?

Kahr does make quality pistols, and if that is what works best for you, go for it. Nine millimeter is an adequate self defense caliber, with the right kind of ammo, but I would avoid the temptation to go with a smaller caliber for less recoil.

Retired Police Detective '71-'01 / LEOSA Certified
Naval Aviation Veteran '65-'69

United States Constitution (c) 1791
All Rights Reserved

Old 04-03-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 756 Times on 449 Posts
Likes Given: 477

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin22 View Post