Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   help!! im a newbie :) (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/help-im-newbie-61707/)

penguin22 04-03-2012 01:32 AM

help!! im a newbie :)

K so..2 years ago if NEVER thought if shoot a gun...well my boyfriend has me hooked! And I'm actually looking at BUYING my first pistol.. I've shot this stepmoms ruger lc9 and I don't like the trigger...or the recoil power...I've been doing some research and maybe you guys can help me out..I've been eyeballin a kahr cw9 but I'm very concearned about the recoil :s are they comparable? And also what are some good beginner double action COMPACT OR SUBCOMPACT (I have small hands so these are way more comfy) hand guns...id like to stay in about the 500 price range and down..

pioneer461 04-03-2012 03:58 PM

An important consideration in choosing a handgun is what you want to do with it. Self / home defense? Concealed carry? Plinking, target shooting, or just to have one?

Kahr does make quality pistols, and if that is what works best for you, go for it. Nine millimeter is an adequate self defense caliber, with the right kind of ammo, but I would avoid the temptation to go with a smaller caliber for less recoil.

PanBaccha 04-03-2012 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by penguin22 (Post 759910)