Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   Help choosing a gun. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/help-choosing-gun-23994/)

Mike5150 02-28-2010 03:01 PM

Help choosing a gun.

Hi there. I'm trying to pick out a handgun that my wife and 8 year old son can feel comfortable with. After a ton of reading I was set on getting the S&W Sigma 9mm (SW9VE). We happened to be at Bass Pro Shops yesterday and I decided to have her check it out. The Salesman also had us check out the Ruger P95. After we left she said she didn't like the P95, it was too top heavy and felt awkward. The Sigma felt comfortable in her hands, but she thinks it might be too heavy overall. We plan on going to a range and renting the gun for a while, but as I am very new to guns I don't know if the weight is something she will get used to. If it's not, I would like to have an idea of other guns to try while we are at the range. I would prefer to avoid a compact gun, and stick with something with a decent magazine capacity if possible. Since this gun is for self defense I also don't want to go any lower then 9mm. Something like the Sigma but a bit lighter maybe. Also cost is unfortunately a factor so it can't be really expensive.

Mr. Bluesky 02-28-2010 04:05 PM

Well, if you think the Sigma's too heavy, there's not much you can go to without dropping to the sub-subcompacts, and those, while useful for carrying when you otherwise couldn't, are not comfortable to shoot.

Magazine capacity should not be a consideration for you. If you hold up your end of the deal in a self-defense situation, a 5-round revolver will do its job, and if you don't plan to shoot well, you shouldn't be carrying in the first place.