Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Which handguns were designed for .40?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 02:41 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 3

Have you considered the Ruger SR40? I picked mine up at a local gun shop for $385
I'm no expert, but it is a solid pistol.

Old 05-17-2012, 02:58 AM   #12

Liked 38 Times on 26 Posts

The S&W M&P 40, SD40, or Sigma 40VE

Old 05-17-2012, 03:19 AM   #13

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge View Post
Have you considered the Ruger SR40? I picked mine up at a local gun shop for $385
I'm no expert, but it is a solid pistol.
The SR series started out with the 9 as well...not really what I'm looking for.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucznik View Post
The S&W M&P 40, SD40, or Sigma 40VE
The M&P is one I've been considering...haven't really looked into the SD40 yet, but it looks like one I should. I like the setup of the M&P, but not so much the pricetag. From what I can tell, not that much difference between the two but the price...would that be a fair assessment?

"I swear by my life, and my love of it, that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine."

Old 05-17-2012, 03:47 AM   #14

Liked 38 Times on 26 Posts

The SD line is a definite step up from the Sigma and, as far as I can tell, doesn't lack much at all in comparison tobthe M&P. It even comes with a tritium front sight standard and the rear sight is the same as the one that comes on the M&P (it even has the M&P logo on it).

It is only available as a full-size gun (no compacts) and it doesn't have the same options as can be had with the M&P - no choice of manual safety, mag disconnect safety, colored frames, interchangeable backstraps, etc.

If I was in the market for a full-size .40 (or 9mm), the SD line would definitely be on the short list.

Old 05-17-2012, 04:20 AM   #15

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts