Handgun Accesory question
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Handgun Accesory question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2011, 06:14 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Handgun Accesory question

I just bought a FN forty nine at a gun show. I am a beginner in handguns. My FN has an accessory rail for lasers and lights. But what kind of laser do I buy a weaver mounted or picatany mounted. If you need a picture let me know. It has 2 grooves under the barrel but that's all I know.

Sent from my iPhone using FirearmsTalk

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-21-2011, 06:17 PM   #2

Go for a Tac Light, not a laser..

And either should be fine.

Correct me if I have this backwards:
Weaver rails are smooth, Picatinny have notches to prevent Fore and Aft sliding.

Go for the picatinny.

Actually, Carry a bright LED flashlight in your pocket, and the gun with no accessories on the rail! Much more effective, and a flashlight makes a great SD tool that can prevent you from needing to draw your CCW.

Old 08-21-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 262 Times on 205 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Handgun rail accessories have a very limited level of practicality.

A rail-mounted tac light (maybe w/laser) can be useful on a home defense weapon like a nightstand gun. I have one on mine, and it's my only handgun rail that sees any use. It's only there for when things go bump in the blind of night.