G17 XDm9 M&P9: Features/Benefits/Downsides
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > G17 XDm9 M&P9: Features/Benefits/Downsides

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2011, 02:51 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default G17 XDm9 M&P9: Features/Benefits/Downsides

Ok, so I’m trying my best not to write a yet another “which gun should I buy” thread.

So, my idea here is to list the Features and Benefits associated with these guns, as well as any perceived Downsides. For the most part, I’d like to keep this as factual as possible, but there’s always going to be room for interpretation, especially on whether something is a Benefit or a Downside.

I am very new to guns, so I’m sure that I’ll leave lots out and get terms incorrect, so any help with this is greatly appreciated. Also, I ultimately plan on shooting all 3 guns and it will likely come down to which one I shoot the best. Or if I shoot them all relatively the same, which one feels the best or somehow speaks to me the most.

Oh, and I’m not adding any features that they all share (like polymer construction, mounting rails, trigger safeties, etc).

Glock G17 4th Gen vs. Springfield Armory XDm 9 vs. Smith & Wesson M&P 9:

Safeties:
G17 – No Thumb or Grip Safeties. Benefit: Nothing to potentially fail or create a false sense of security. Downside: No potential failsafe beyond the brain-trigger finger connection.
XDm9 – Grip Safety. Benefit: Must grip gun to fire. Downside: Potential point of failure.
M&P9 – Optional Thumb Safety. Benefit: Best of both worlds have if you want it, omit it if you don’t. Downside: None.

Barrel Height:
G17 – Low. Benefit: Reduced upward leverage on recoil. Downside: None.
XDm9 – High. Benefit: None. Downside: Increased upward leverage on recoil.
M&P9 – Low. Benefit: Reduced upward leverage on recoil. Downside: None.

Breakdown:
G17 – Requires a Trigger Pull. Benefit: None. Downside: Potential for ND.