FNP-9 Opinion's? Basically 1st 9mm Semi Auto Candidates
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > FNP-9 Opinion's? Basically 1st 9mm Semi Auto Candidates

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2011, 02:12 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default FNP-9 Opinion's? Basically 1st 9mm Semi Auto Candidates

FNG here. I intro'd myself awhile back but have been lurking heavily without posting ever since.

Have been plinking more and more with my brother's 10/22 and a friends HK USP compact 9mm. Heavy window shopping is getting me closer and closer to finally making my first purchase. I have little firearm experience, and am looking for a solid first purchase. Home defense and carry are not priorities/considerations, at this time. Plinking and FUN, learning safety, ownership responsability, and maintenence fundamentals are.

I have considered a .22 pistol (Buckmark seems to be the one) as a first purchase but after shooting a couple (fun) and my brother's 10/22 rifle quite a bit, I have put a value on learning to manage some felt recoil. 9mm seems the logical choice. Perhaps I am wrong but it seems like the right caliber choice at this time for me.

I am a little dude with small hands, and from what my limited experience has shown me fit in the hand and muzzle flip/recoil seem to be bigger factors in my comfort and performance than most. I am also a southpaw so ambi controls shoud be a priority for me. I think lighter weight (with the recoil tradeoff) and smallish grip size will probably be ideal for me.

I would like something DA/SA but only have the friends HK USP with the de-cocker/safety and external hammer vs a Glock 17 I shot a few times one day to base that off of. As a learner I think I want the external safety and de-cocker.