Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   first time handgun buyer (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/first-time-handgun-buyer-58386/)

MichaelBarton 02-21-2012 03:45 AM

first time handgun buyer

im looking to purchase a handgun. i am thinking about a Springfield XD .40 or a Glock 23. any opinions or reviews?

Charyoutree 02-21-2012 04:39 AM

Welcome to the forums!

I have no experience with the XD. While I've not owned a 23, my primary handgun is a 22 (larger framed .40) and I can attest that Glocks are very user-friendly to learn with. The absolute best thing you old do on this decision is go to our local un store and handle both of them. Ideally, rent both at the range and try them out.

Some people think they're ugly...but IMO that's just crazy talk. They are excellent tools,are durable as all get-out, and will work through jut about any abuse you can dish out to it.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? (Who watches the watchers?) --"Satires", Juvenal (Roman poet)

Quentin 02-21-2012 04:56 AM

I agree with Charyoutree, handle them and try them out if you can. I like the Glock better than the XD and have the G22, G23 and G27. Any of those would be good choices with the G23 just about ideal. Try to handle both Gen 3 and Gen 4.

primer1 02-21-2012 05:37 AM

While you're handling and ogeling try the smith m&p. Many swear by it.

NvRbanArms 02-21-2012 06:14 AM

Smith Wesson is a good manufacturer. But for some reason I do not like the m&p line. I think it's the trigger. Just don't fit me. But that just my opinion. Try em and see what u like. I prefer glocks, Hk (too expensive though). And sig.

Delmonte67 02-21-2012 10:12 AM