Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > First Range Visit Today: 1911 vs. XD

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2009, 02:34 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default First Range Visit Today: 1911 vs. XD

I didn't fire an XD-45ACP, but I sure thought that's what I wanted, until a friend let me fire 100 rounds through his two Kimber 1911 45ACPs at a local private indoor range today. I am a newbie and my first impression was the 1911 was LOUD, and maybe jumpy, but not bad on kick. Very aim-able and accurate (I had no trouble achieving 5" spread from 25 feet per clip, not bad considering I haven't fired a handgun in over 24 years). The trigger was sweet, with just the right amount of travel.

So, not having tried an XD but still wanting one, which should I buy: 1911 or XD? And will dropping to a 4" barrel in the XD kill my accuracy THAT much compared to the 1911's 5-incher? noise level? jumpiness? Flash? kick? TO those who've fired both, how do these compare (XD v. 1911)?

My purpose: basic HD, and CC/protection. I won't be a range rat any more than necessary to keep up proficiency.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-29-2009, 02:58 AM   #2

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

I have fired both, and have owned both (still own the XD). The 1911 is one of the best designs in the world of the sidearm. As long as your stay with the quality brands, you cannot go wrong with the 1911.