Deciding To Get My CCW
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Deciding To Get My CCW

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 04:37 AM   #1
XsV
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Deciding To Get My CCW

So now comes the decision of what to haul around. I have a G17 and a 92 but both of those might be a little heavy for everyday carry and I'm probably not gunna be able to hide the ole Ruger revolver. I thought I made up my mind and I was going to pick up an M&P (probably 9 or 40). But now I'm not sure. Any suggestions? I want above 380 caliber, I have big hands so nothing to small (a shield is too small), poly or metal, no glock, taurus, kahr, hi-point, or bersa.

Also, since I'm new to this whole CCW thing, are there any other tips or info I should know about? I'm going to get a holster from Armadillo Concealment because I'd rather not keep it in my pocket or something of that nature. But I would appreciate any and all advice or help.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-06-2013, 05:19 AM   #2
I used to play keyboards, but now...
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 2060 Times on 1254 Posts
Likes Given: 2245

For starters read the following thread:

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f17/read-before-you-decide-carry-67036/

Concealed carry is a compromise between a gun big enough to be satisfying to shoot and a gun small enough to conceal. Pick a gun that you are comfortable shooting, willing to practice with regularly, and can shoot with a reasonable degree of accuracy. Then start looking for a suitable holster.