Can you over clean your gun? Wear it out? - Page 4
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Can you over clean your gun? Wear it out?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2008, 02:58 PM   #31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

I'm rather new to handguns, but I've been shooting at least twice a week for the past couple of months (my shooting club has great ammo prices for members) and I've noticed a big difference in performance with clean versus dirty guns.

A gunsmith at the club told me that a light cleaning was all I needed, but I'd rather take the extra time and keep my guns as clean as I can.

Plus, I enjoy tinkering with them.

Old 10-20-2008, 03:44 PM   #32

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbw View Post
NickoD,

I'm not sure what you mean by "sweat" the carbon buildup overtime?...
Well, it was the term I can easiest explain what happens to the gun as it sits there in plain English.

Basically the carbon that sticks on the gun parts will not come out simply by cleaning the weapon after you fire it. While that practice does indeed get most out, if you take your weapon apart about a week later you will notice that your weapon will look still dirty. That's the CLP slowly breaking down any remaining carbon. Thus "sweating".

Hope it's a bit clearer.

Old 10-20-2008, 08:48 PM   #33
cbw

Yes,that makes more sense to my small brain. When I tear down my 9 MM next week I'll look for some additional grim that was not there last week when I cleaned it (really well) after shooting. Thanx

Last edited by cbw; 10-20-2008 at 09:04 PM. Reason: sp

Old 10-28-2008, 06:13 PM   #34