Buying my first pistol - Page 3
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns >

Buying my first pistol

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 01:08 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

lol @ mrwray....thats a great way to put it. I thought it was the over penetration of the round...but if they are a bunch of vag's then that would make sense.

Anyway, it all comes down to personal preferance. I am by no means an expert, i just know what i like. And i TRAIN with my weapons as often as i can, in an urban environment. Its an expensive hobby if you get that far in to it....but big boy toys aften are...lol

Old 01-18-2012, 01:49 AM   #22

Liked 354 Times on 282 Posts
Likes Given: 53

Based on the criteria, buy something in a medium to full frame, and 9mm or larger.

380 is a carry caliber. 9mm (or even 40sw) will be cheaper at the range and more suitable for home defense. 45acp won't be so different in pricing vs 380. For most people the usefulness of 380acp begins and ends with micro carry guns. Buy something that's more powerful, more affordable, and often easier to be accurate with. It might be worth exploring a 357mag revolver as well.

For $500 or so I think the best non-poly HD pistol out there is the CZ 75b, and their variations of that model.

Also worth looking at are alloy Sigs (P220, P226, P228/229, and P239). These will generally run $500-650 used, $700+ new. I've found that "like new" used Sigs are easy enough to track down at reasonable prices.

A CZ 75 compact/pcr, Sig P228/229, or Sig P239 would all be good range/HD pistols as well decent future carry guns. But note that the P239 does have a limited capacity.

Old 01-18-2012, 03:46 AM   #23

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts