bullet shell not ejecting?

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > bullet shell not ejecting?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2012, 07:58 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default bullet shell not ejecting?

Last weekend was my first time at a shooting range, I'm totally new with guns. My friend bought a Sig Sauer and I tried. There were 3 of us so we took turns. On the first round I had no problem. But on my second round it jammed almost every single shot (by jamming I mean the shell not ejecting and was stuck inside). My friend (who has experience with shooting a gun) went up after me and he was fine, no jamming. So what did I do wrong? The way I held the gun? I only put one finger on the trigger and my left hand was supporting at the base. The way I pulled the trigger? But the action is so instantaneous I don't see how I can do wrong?

By the way the gun was brand new so it's not dirty. Bullets are cheap though, but that doesn't explain why when my friend shot it it doesn't jam.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-12-2012, 08:08 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 588 Times on 378 Posts
Likes Given: 535

Cheap ammo combined with a new pistol could have been it. If the ammo was reloads they might have been light on the powder. That and a recoil spring that isn't broken in yet could have easily caused that. In any case you didn't do anything wrong. Your grip should be your firing hand resting inside your left though not on top of it, for accuracy sake. IMO.

*edit*
Oh yeah welcome to FTF! don't forget to post in the introductions thread!