Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Begginer help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2011, 05:26 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Well mostly I just wanna do target shooting but I've got some crazy friends that go out and hunt armed only with pistols and knives. I may join them if I become a good enough shot. For now it's just me target shooting, and maby my girlfriend if she gets interested.

Old 08-29-2011, 05:27 PM   #12

Oh sry I forgot to specify, that recent message was to jjsmail

Old 08-29-2011, 05:33 PM   #13

Sweeper22,
The range master is a close friend, he's the one that got me interested in shooting. Usually it's 600 dollars for this deal but he gave it to me for this special price on the condition that I can only use their bottom line ammo (the suckiest available) for the gun I'm using. Any other ammo I have to purchase myself. But still, I'm no pro so it doesn't make much difference to me.

Old 08-29-2011, 06:22 PM   #14
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2590 Times on 1297 Posts
Likes Given: 248

Quote:
Well mostly I just wanna do target shooting but I've got some crazy friends that go out and hunt armed only with pistols and knives. I may join them if I become a good enough shot. For now it's just me target shooting, and maby my girlfriend if she gets interested.
Just starting out, I'd hunt down a .357 revolver of some sort. For range use with potential hunting, I'd look at a 6" barrel. Ruger or S&W would be a safe choice for new purchases. Same for used, with Colt and Dan Wesson added for variety.

If you insist on a semi-auto 9mm, CZ 75b. Inexpensive, reliable and accurate. Good all around pistol. It wouldn't be my first choice for hunting, however.
NRA Life Member

"If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand."
Milton Friedman

Old 08-29-2011, 07:37 PM   #15
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8440 Times on 3662 Posts
Likes Given: 1301