Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   Alright, help me out.. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/alright-help-me-out-2996/)

Rubi22 01-13-2008 04:58 AM

Alright, help me out..

First of all, I'm very new to handguns, found this site via a banner on JeepForum.com, and have been browsing through the threads trying to learn a little of this and that.

I don't have a specific question, rather I'm just looking for some advice from the other experienced members.

Here's my situation: I don't have a handgun, and I'm 19. I'll probably be buying one within the first week that I turn 21, so I'm trying to learn as much as I can before then. It'll be used at the range, at the house for home protection, and will most likely become a CCW. Oh, and FYI, I'm a lefty--not sure how much that's going to affect how comfortable it is in my hand, but that's why I'm asking, right? :D Here's what I've began to consider after visiting the store a few times:

Ruger SR9 (9mm): By far, the most comfortable in my hand. Great look to it, but because it's so new, have yet to hear enough reviews to be comfortable choosing it as the primary choice. Although, I'd really like the extra power of a .40...

Glock .40: A trusted name in firearms... fairly comfortable in my hand, although I'd have to get used to the right-hand slide-release. I really like the fact that it's backed by many aftermarket accessories (I'd most likely get a light).

Springfield XD-40: Solid pistol, also with a lot of history, I would definitely consider it in the long run and doubt I'd regret it, although it's not the most comfortable. Also, I like the grip-safety feature, but is it really worth it?

I appreciate your responses :)

hillbilly68 01-13-2008 05:29 AM