Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Semi-Auto Handguns (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/)
-   -   Advise on magazines (or clips) (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f15/advise-magazines-clips-158/)

marmac 04-28-2007 03:00 AM

Advise on magazines (or clips)

I have a Ruger P345 and is my first automatic. I bought it in December and love it! Since I am a newbie with autos, I have a question.

It came with 2 magazines and, since then, I've purchased 3 more. Before I go to the range, I will take it the night before and load all of them with rounds so I don't use too much time when I get to the range (he gives you an hour for $10). I had someone at the range see that my mags were all loaded and he asked me when I had loaded them and when I had done it. I told him the night before, that would place it about 12 hours before, and he told me that I should never leave a magazine fully loaded up for more than a day because that would wear the spring out very quickly and would lead to a jam. He advised to put no more than a couple of rounds in a mag to leave in each one for readiness.

Okay, what do you guys suggest and have you ever had a problem with jamups or misload because of premature wear and fatigue due to the compression of the spring? :confused:

Thanks.

MarMac

BrassMonkey 04-28-2007 01:19 PM

I probably have 100 or so loaded magazines at any given time. Some of them may be loaded for a year or more before being fired with no malfunctions. I have heard of a case where a 1911 magazine from WWII was found loaded and functioned perfectly after being loaded for over 60 years. Storing mags loaded is IMO not harmful to their function in any way. What wears the springs out is the act of loading and unloading them. Keep em loaded as long as you want, and you will be just fine. The only time leaving mags loaded for long periods of time can cause problems is with certian drum mags.