9mm vs 40 cal - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 9mm vs 40 cal

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2009, 12:28 PM   #21
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 83 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 5

This questions will be argued until Jesus comes back..... 9 vs 40 vs 45 vs 700 nitro express.....Shoot both, try different firearms and pick which one you are most comfortable with. It doesn't matter how big the gun is if you can't hit the board side of a barn with it, it's an expensive rock. Here is what I would do and what I did when making this same choice. I studied both rounds, I fired both rounds from the same gun and I got various opinions from people I talked to. Both are good rounds, both can be effective self defense rounds, it's your preference. I decided to go with a 9mm because I didn't like the higher pressures of the 40 and I was hoping I could get my wife to step up to a 9 from her 38(it didn't happen).
That said, I already had a 45 at home and I carry a 45.

If the pain is lacking so is the discipline...

"the only 911 call I need is chambering a round" - Mr. Muller, MO car dealer

Old 09-06-2009, 01:47 PM   #22

Don't hesitate to make 45ACP your first gun. It is easy to control and works at much much lower pressures than 40 or 9mm.

There are good reasons that it is so popular. Fun to shoot, very accurate, and great for self defense.

Old 09-06-2009, 04:08 PM   #23

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

.45 ammo is twice as expensive as 9mm and twice as hard to find.

Don't let the high pressures bother you, they have much higher velocity and the guns that shoot them are made to handle the pressure.

Like someone sad, you'll mostly be shooting at the ranges not at bad guys. If you do have to shoot a bad guy 9mm and .40 have rounds more than capable of handling the situation. The bad guy won't be upset that you killed him with a smaller round.