is NC an open carry state?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Events and Meetups > State Forums > North Carolina Gun Forum > is NC an open carry state?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2012, 03:41 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default is NC an open carry state?

hey guys noob here i'm from Texas but currently stationed in NC.

i called the craven county sheriffs department recently and was hoping they could shed some light on open carrying in New Bern NC. After some research with google i presumed that NC is a traditional open carry state, and asked the LEO on the phone if it is alright to open carry in New bern NC, he began to berate me and told me that in order to open carry i had to be a law enforcement official ect... in conclusion he basically told me that i have to have a conceal carry permit in order to carry. i'm just trying to get the facts straight, i heard in Chapel Hill you are not allowed to open carry there, which is why i specifically called and asked about New Bern, which is where i live close to.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-30-2012, 03:55 AM   #2
RIP my good and faithful dog.
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 7174 Times on 4318 Posts
Likes Given: 8753

I would go online and check on the laws for the state. Log on to their department of justice.

Old 03-30-2012, 04:00 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by winds-of-change View Post
I would go online and check on the laws for the state. Log on to their department of justice.
are .org websites reliable? i gained my knowledge off of this website http://www.opencarry.org/nc.html

Old 03-30-2012, 04:03 AM   #4