Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   New York Gun Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f145/)
-   -   Exploding Targets Shooting Range (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f145/exploding-targets-shooting-range-88237/)

M1GARANDBING 04-05-2013 03:01 PM

Exploding Targets Shooting Range

Hey I was looking around for a shooting range that allows exploding targets in the Rockland county area.
Anyone know of any ranges that let you use that candy?

kfox75 04-05-2013 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M1GARANDBING (Post 1204045)
Hey I was looking around for a shooting range that allows exploding targets in the Rockland county area.
Anyone know of any ranges that let you use that candy?

M1. Call your local ranges or find a friend who has a farm, and see if you can use a section of it as a range. That's how we do it on the other end of the state. Now for the legal end of things:

I am not a lawyer, so i assume no responsibility for how the following information is used. Check with an attourney, and local LEOs in your area.

The laws regarding use if a firearm as per the NYS 2012\2013 DEC hunting regulation book are as follows:

You may not discharge a firearm, airgun, crossbow, or bow within 500 feet of an occupied building without the permission of that buildings owner or tenant.

Not a law, but simply a CYA thing, make sure that you are shooting your targets somewhere that there is an adequate backstop for the rounds you are using. Mine is made from a pile of old tires, railroad ties, and several yards of dirt and pea gravel, 8.5 feet high, by 19 feet across, and 30 feet long. Anything that does penetrate it ain't going very fast or far on the other side.

You can not fire any of the above from the shoulder of the road, or in a direction that causes the projectile to cross said roadway.