Wife- home defense weapon - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Wife- home defense weapon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 07:17 PM   #21
I'm a mechanic, I fix problems you didn't know you had, in ways you do not understand
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3758 Times on 2084 Posts
Likes Given: 168

Quote:
Originally Posted by dub1686
I just did this with my wife. She likes the Glock 9mm and the XD 9mm. We are going to the range to rent in the near future.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj84
I started my wife out shooting a glock 19. But it was my gun so I bought her a 380 and I carry a 45 but then I got to thinking it doesn't make much sense to not trust my life to a 380 but trust hers with it so now we both carry 45s.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB
A lot of good advice here! I know when I leave for work I don't like leaving my wife and kids empty handed. Sure there's always the shotgun, but that intimidates her. She always seems to like the pink .22 autos, I don't feel that is enough even though I sure as heck wouldn't stand in front of one, plus they seem to be way overpriced! She tried a Bersa Thunder .380 and liked it, nice little gun, problem was the guy who wanted to sell it to me changed his mind as soon as he thought he really had something. Lately I've been thinking another 9mm would be best as she is more than capable of operating my XD, and common ammunition saves money!
When I was looking for a gun for me I had three requirements:

1. It had to be something I felt comfortable with, the first gun I ever shot was a .45 and I hated it. If she's in a situation where she has to use it she'll probably be scared enough she doesn't need to be intimidated by what she's using to defend herself, if that means she has a .22 well in my opinion that's better than nothing.