When carrying - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > When carrying

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2013, 10:04 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 82 Times on 59 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by fa35jsf
Since I have started carrying, I have cut back on my alcohol consumption a bunch (or it could be that I graduated college OR got married OR got in the military).

Regardless, I don't drink when the wife and I go out anymore. When we were on our honeymoon I was carrying while she was dragging me into a bunch of girly small town stores. One of the stores must have felt sorry about the poor guys cause they built a "Man Cave" in the back which consisted of a bar with some stools, a TV turned to a hunting show, and a fridge full of FREE BEER. I know, how could anyone pass that up? Right?

So I found myself back there about the time another gentleman discovered the sacred place and handed him a beer while I grabbed one for myself. As soon as that first gulp of sweet nectar slid down my parched throat, I realized I had my gun on me. What was I to do?

I could have finished the beer and stopped right there, but if I ran into trouble then I was gonna be in it deep. However, I don't look good in bright orange.

Then again, I could leave the beer where it sat and walk away, knowing that I don't want to put my future and safety, nor that of anyone who was around me in harm. Of course this breaks some sort of unwritten man code about wasting a perfectly good, cold, delicious beer.

Well I went with the second option because it was the SMART and RIGHT thing to do. Luckily my wife saved me by asking me to come take a look at something and I 'forgot' my beer, so as the other gentleman wouldn't scold me about breaking that man code law.