Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   What's wrong with .40 cal (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/whats-wrong-40-cal-94618/)

TankTop 07-29-2013 01:54 PM

What's wrong with .40 cal

Seems this round is getting bashed a lot. First off I'm still pretty new to firearms, but I feel the .40 is very comfortable to shoot. I did buy a Sig P226 in .40 and hated it so I traded for a Glock 23 and it's awesome. Maybe I'm doing something wrong or just don't have enough experience, but when I'm practicing I'm so focused on my front sight and sight picture I don't even notice the slide lock back sometimes. My thoughts are if it has too much recoil I would have to take a second and find my sight picture again, which I don't.

ScottA 07-29-2013 02:06 PM

There's nothing wrong with it at all. Some people are always looking for something to criticize, and since it is the youngest of the major calibers, it's going to get knocked. Kind of like teasing the new kid in the neighborhood until somebody else newer arrives.

At some point, another round will come along and begin making headway into the market. Perhaps the .44 auto or who knows what. At that point, all the criticism of the .40 crowd will be directed towards it. And the .40? It will be just another wise choice for self defense.

Olympus 07-29-2013 02:06 PM

I don't know that it gets "bashed" a lot, but there are many people that don't care for it. Myself included. I personally can't find any justification to own or shoot a .40. There is nothing that a .40 can do that a 10mm can't do better so I choose 10s over the 40. The recoil is sharp and snappy and unpleasant to me.

But everyone had their preference and opinion. If you like the 40, then who cares if other people don't.

Overkill0084 07-29-2013 02:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TankTop (Post 1319023)