Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > what's a good, inexpensive starter gun

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 06:12 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default what's a good, inexpensive starter gun

I'm just getting into shooting handguns, and am getting ready to purchase my first. Right now my funds are very limited, but i don't want a piece of garbage. I am attracted to the Ruger P95 and Bersa thunder9, mainly because of cost and reviews. I considered a .22, but i really think i want to start with a 9mm. I do have somewhat big hands. And there are no ranges within 300 miles that rent guns.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-28-2013, 06:25 PM   #2

Liked 83 Times on 65 Posts

Also try CZ ,Beretta PX4,Smith and Wesson sd9ve ,Sig Sauer 2022 there are many these are the first to come to mind that are a great value with quality in mind.

Old 01-28-2013, 06:25 PM   #3
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 7557 Times on 3290 Posts
Likes Given: 1122

First, if you have a good local gun shop, look carefully among the USED firearms. You may find some unexpected bargains there.

Second, I am going to suggest that rather than a 9, your first SHOULD be a .22. Matter of fact, a Ruger .22. Careful shopping, you can find a nice NEW one for about $300, and a good used one for less.

The habits, practices and skills you develop with a .22 will carry over into other firearms, and with budget being tight, you will shoot a LOT more with a .22 than with a 9mm.

What we have heah is.... failure to communicate.

Old 01-28-2013, 06:29 PM   #4

Quote: