Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   what's a good, inexpensive starter gun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/whats-good-inexpensive-starter-gun-82696/)

pilotdog68 01-28-2013 06:12 PM

what's a good, inexpensive starter gun

I'm just getting into shooting handguns, and am getting ready to purchase my first. Right now my funds are very limited, but i don't want a piece of garbage. I am attracted to the Ruger P95 and Bersa thunder9, mainly because of cost and reviews. I considered a .22, but i really think i want to start with a 9mm. I do have somewhat big hands. And there are no ranges within 300 miles that rent guns.

SigArmored 01-28-2013 06:25 PM

Also try CZ ,Beretta PX4,Smith and Wesson sd9ve ,Sig Sauer 2022 there are many these are the first to come to mind that are a great value with quality in mind.

c3shooter 01-28-2013 06:25 PM

First, if you have a good local gun shop, look carefully among the USED firearms. You may find some unexpected bargains there.

Second, I am going to suggest that rather than a 9, your first SHOULD be a .22. Matter of fact, a Ruger .22. Careful shopping, you can find a nice NEW one for about $300, and a good used one for less.

The habits, practices and skills you develop with a .22 will carry over into other firearms, and with budget being tight, you will shoot a LOT more with a .22 than with a 9mm.

pilotdog68 01-28-2013 06:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by c3shooter (Post 1113756)
Second, I am going to suggest that rather than a 9, your first SHOULD be a .22. Matter of fact, a Ruger .22. Careful shopping, you can find a nice NEW one for about $300, and a good used one for less.

Is there anything wrong with s&w .22? I regularly see them for around $200 new.