What am I doing wrong? - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > What am I doing wrong?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 02:09 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 31 Times on 19 Posts

I'm working on working out the same issue. Low and left. Until I shoot about 3 mags. Then I'm better. Here is a pic of my first mag at the rang the other week. See? Low and left. It took a couple of try's to work it out. I'm new to shooting as well. It could be the gun doesn't fit you. I shot my friends XDM 9mm and didn't have that problem. Also my M&P is a 40.

image-3117979955.jpg  

Old 12-07-2012, 08:19 PM   #22

Liked 292 Times on 252 Posts

Wouldn't an adjustment of the rear sight and lower bead on front when aiming be the simple solution?

Old 12-08-2012, 01:35 PM   #23
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1768 Times on 989 Posts
Likes Given: 1302

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeyondTheBox View Post
Wouldn't an adjustment of the rear sight and lower bead on front when aiming be the simple solution?
Sure, if you're content with sloppy technique. The problem won't go away by adjusting the sights, even though it may bring the shots from this gun on target. What happens if he ever decides to go with a fixed sights gun? It's easier to unlearn bad habits early on than it is to try to correct them after years of shooting.
Old 12-08-2012, 07:00 PM   #24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc3402 View Post

Sure, if you're content with sloppy technique. The problem won't go away by adjusting the sights, even though it may bring the shots from this gun on target. What happens if he ever decides to go with a fixed sights gun? It's easier to unlearn bad habits early on than it is to try to correct them after years of shooting.
That can go both ways... What if the sights are adjusted poorly to begin with? Just saying, I think that should always be the first suggestion, to align the sights.

Old 12-08-2012, 07:02 PM   #25