Walther P22 problems
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Walther P22 problems

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2009, 05:27 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Walther P22 problems

I am fairly new to firearms and need some help.

I purchased a Walthers p22 last week and have put about 300 rounds (winchester wildcat 22) thru it so far. It seems that when I use one of the two factory supplied magazines the weapon jams and misfires. I have had to pry several unspent rounds out of the barrel and had many (approx 25) instances where the following round has not loaded properly.

Could this be caused by the mag? Should I contact S&W/Walthers for repair? What would cause this.

I am concerned as this is the firearm that I purchased to teach my son, but do not want him near this until these problems are solved.

Any guidance that you can offer would be appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-01-2009, 08:30 PM   #2

I'll say first off, I'm new to shooting myself, but I'll give my input anyhow

a) Is this happening with just one of the mags or with both? If it's just with one of them, I'd venture a guess that it's the magazine
b) Have you tried any other types of ammo? I've put 700 rounds of CCI Mini-Mag through my P22 with no issues

Old 03-01-2009, 08:35 PM   #3

Location: I see you, and you will not know when I will strike
Liked 3479 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 3590