Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   thinking of a new handgun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/thinking-new-handgun-57754/)

kingcooley 02-15-2012 01:50 AM

thinking of a new handgun

I'm looking at buying my first handgun and someone told me to get a highpoint 45 any advice

MrWray 02-15-2012 02:00 AM

What is your spending limit and what do you plan to use the gun for?

Powersportgiant 02-15-2012 02:02 AM

I'm not an expert by any means. But if you have more money to spend, get something, anything else.

Charyoutree 02-15-2012 02:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kingcooley
I'm looking at buying my first handgun and someone told me to get a highpoint 45 any advice

I have no first-hand experience with Highpoints, but what I've seen and heard is that they are not too easily field stripped (for cleaning). In the concealed handgun safety class I went through this weekend there were 5 or 6 people there with Highpoints that had no idea how to take them apart. The instructor had them all come up to the front table and showed them how all at one time. It took 15 or 20 minutes and my impression was "Why go through that?"

A bit more money, but "newbie-friendly", I suggest a Glock. Easy to maintain (break down and clean) and can take a beating and still go bang. Just by reading through the owners manual I learned how o field strip and clean it in about 10 minutes. With only a little practice, I can have the gun ready for cleaning in less than 15 seconds and have it cleaned and reassembled in about 3 or 4 minutes (a few minutes longer if I've been shooting dirty ammo).