Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   subcompact 9mm (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/subcompact-9mm-84115/)

mikemc 02-13-2013 04:52 PM

subcompact 9mm

Hello everyone and yes I am very new to this (handguns).

I've been reading and talking to whomever I can to try and get a good idea of what I want and what is truly available to me, knowing that price will play at least a small part. I am registered for my CPL/CCW class (2/23/13) and have not decided on any hardware just yet. I definitely want something small (I'm small and not heavy) for concealment purposes and I have been leaning towards a 9mm type subcompact. I originally was looking into .380's, but with the market for seemingly dependable and small 9mm's being as well populated as it is, I think that is where I will look. Does anyone have any experience with, and thoughts on, the Kel-Tec PF9, the Ruger LC9 and the S&W 9mm Shield, subcompacts? I know that the Kel-Tec is the least expensive and the other two are probably about $100 more but I'd like to hear anything that anyone has to say about each of them. Actually, any advice on small carry guns is appreciated.

Thanks gang and I am really looking forward to getting going with this.

Cattledog 02-13-2013 05:03 PM

Best advice on any handgun is to get some trigger time. Call up any local ranges you have and see if that have some compact nines to try out. That said, I have a keltec pf-9 and it's a solid firearm with a perfectly engineered barrel. More accurate than it has any right to be, really.

pros:
accurate for the barrel length
slim and light
1 round mag extension available that creates a full grip.
reliable (in my own experience) after 1000+ rounds
awesome customer service
lifetime warranty

cons:
the firing pin hates being dryfired, don't do it.