Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Should you clean new handgun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/should-you-clean-new-handgun-55070/)

11Handicap 01-09-2012 01:48 AM

Should you clean new handgun

I am new to fire arms, i recently purchased my first gun. After tons of research. Took it to the range and was not so hapoy. I understand you need to run 200-300 rounds through it to break it in. A shoot 50 rounds in my new Ruger SR9C, out of 50 rounds i had (9) malfunctions. (5) light strikes/ no fire and (4) failure to extract properly. Should i have cleaned it before i took it to shoot???

Marlinman 01-09-2012 01:53 AM

Some people do some dont. Almost all good gun smiths will advise you to. I always do but im a gun smith so there you go

God didnt make all men equal colonel sam colt did

OldManMontgomery 01-09-2012 01:55 AM

Cleaning it before firing it will NOT cause any problems. However, the purpose of the 200-300 round break in period it to smooth out all the parts and get it operating properly. This is the time to find out about light strikes and failures to extract. Presumably, the break in will allow all the metal parts to wear in and function properly. All the little burrs that hinder both chambering and extraction will polish off and such.

If you ceased after the first 50 rounds and went home, fine. Clean the pistol thoroughly and go shoot it some more. Lubricating it won't hurt, either.

See how it works after you've run a couple hundred rounds through it. And don't just blaze away the ammo; practice sight picture and sight alignment and trigger control. Get in some decent practice.

DodgeThis 01-09-2012 01:56 AM