Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > shooting right handed while aiming with left eye...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2009, 12:08 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 30 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default shooting right handed while aiming with left eye...

So basically, I am right handed but damn near blind in my right eye. So because of this, I have to shoot righty and aim with my left eye... I never thought anything of it until I started learning more about shooting. My question is, does shooting like this effect my aim in any way with a pistol? I have to shoot rifles left handed unless they have a tall scope on them, but shooting lefty feels down right awkward and is not fun for me.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-08-2009, 12:44 AM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

interesting...
i would say to switch everything to your left
the way i see it:
1. your right eye is never gonna get better
2. the awkwardness of becoming a lefty is gonna go away with practice and time
its gonna feel weird and you'll shoot terrible but with practice and time you'll get better
and hey in this day and age a lefty has it just as good as a righty (maybe not all the time but yeah)

so what do you think?

and yes aiming with left while holding with right is gonna effect accuracy and you'll hit a wall eventually(i think)

"If guns cause crime then all of mine are defective." -Ted Nugent

Last edited by junho806; 10-08-2009 at 12:52 AM.

Old 10-08-2009, 12:48 AM   #3

Liked 21 Times on 7 Posts