Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > S&W 44 special?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2009, 09:33 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default S&W 44 special?

Folks"

Looking for your advice. I'm looking for a handgun for general household protection and plinking . I prefer a rveovler. Thinking about a S&W 44 special or 357 special or mag.
May I have your comments re. +'s and_'s?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-19-2009, 10:09 PM   #2

Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts

Welcome to the forum, JorgeLobo. Since I have no idea of your experience with firearms, I will offer what I would do.

I would look at revolvers in .357 mag that also shoot the .38 special. There are many out there that are very functional. Plink with the .38's and protect with the .357 mags. That is just my opinion.

Perhaps if you go to the introduction section and tell us a little about yourself and your experience, you may find some other members with different opinions.

From C3Shooter:
Skullcrusher, you are evil, sick, demented, twisted- and my hero!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandamonium View Post
...without the Second, we cannot protect the rest!

Old 09-20-2009, 06:47 PM   #3
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2552 Times on 1339 Posts
Likes Given: 192

IMHO any collection of handguns must start with a good 4" .357 Mag revolver. They are simple, powerful, reliable, and versitile. Light specials for practice and plinking. Heavy magnums for deep penetration on large targets and everything in between.

S&W 586/686 are very good revolvers.