Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Revolvers over Autos?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2008, 09:01 AM   #31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boris View Post
Everone is entitled to your point of view, but if you forgive me I find you a very opinionated young man. That is not the point I was trying to make, however it matters little. But I would like you to understand that in the dark reaches of this forum is a lot of experienced guys, who have been shooting for a considerable length of time.
I've reached the half century mark, so if I'm "young" compared to you, then you must be a serious old geezer!

I've been shooting since the 1960's, and have been a dealer on the gun show circuit in a two state area since the 1980's. I've shot HUNDREDS of different semi-autos and revolvers in my time, thank you!

Quote:
Robocop was spot on the money in respect of defensive sidearms.
In YOUR opinion. Which so far hasn't been proven to be correct.

Quote:
I have shot both revolvers and semi-auto's for a considerable amount of time including my police service and in the private sector I have never had a problem with Smith and Wesson, however all weapons held in central armoury are only as good as the armourer who is responsible for them. Semi-autos by their nature can be prone to stopages, but regular maintainance obviously reduces this possibility redically.
Who says they were being held in "central armoury"? The article doesn't. So you're simply making an assumption.

Even IF they were being held in "central armoury", you're still making a sheer assumption, since you have NO idea how well the armorer(s) took care of them.

And if the massive number of revolver malfunctions was due to abuse and poor maintenance by the corrections department, why would Smith replace them? The article says NOTHING about the problems being caused by abuse etc.