Question on caliber and accuracy - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Question on caliber and accuracy

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2009, 01:16 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

A lot of it has to do with the shooter as well. You are going to shoot better with a gun you can handle.

If you are new to shooting you don't want to go out and start shooting a 500 smith with your buddies dino stomper 450gr bullet rounds you want to start at the 22lr and work your way up to the bigger ones.

I started shooting 22lr at about the age or 7 by the time I was 9 I was shooting full power 357mag loads. Granted the Revolver was big 8" barrel made me fell like Dirty Harry.

Some has to do with how big the gun is. A 2" snubbie in 44 mag is going to move more with you shoot it vs a 2" barreled 38 spec shooting low end loads.

Now the best thing about rimfres is they are dirt cheap to shoot. I go threw 500 to 1000 rounds of 22 in a single range session. I will shoot 200 45acp in my 1911 and I am done. cost me to much to be burning them up like that.

the Federal bulk 22lr is .026 cents a round that is almost 3 cents a round. I reload my 45acp and it is still 8 or 9 cents per round. that is 4 times as much money.

Old 04-23-2009, 01:26 AM   #12
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 54 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rimfire McNutjob View Post
A lot of it has to do with the shooter as well. You are going to shoot better with a gun you can handle.

If you are new to shooting you don't want to go out and start shooting a 500 smith with your buddies dino stomper 450gr bullet rounds you want to start at the 22lr and work your way up to the bigger ones.

I started shooting 22lr at about the age or 7 by the time I was 9 I was shooting full power 357mag loads. Granted the Revolver was big 8" barrel made me fell like Dirty Harry.