Question on caliber and accuracy
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Question on caliber and accuracy

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2009, 11:24 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Question on caliber and accuracy

I'm new to the gun world and when I see different guns I wonder about what caliber says or does it really matter? Why would someone want a .22 over a .38 ? I understand the philosophy bigger is better and bigger could tear something up or take down a deer, but what about Accuracy? Does bigger take away from that when it comes to smaller guns? I don't think it does but I'm just asking.

I plan to purchase a couple so I'm doing a little research. The berettas police force use look attractive.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-17-2009, 11:45 PM   #2

Location: I see you, and you will not know when I will strike
Liked 3479 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 3590

You're on the right track, but you are asking the wrong questions.

ANY cartridge can be accurate if it's put in the right weapon. There are .22's that are FAR more accurate than monster handguns merely because the monsters are tougher to hold on target.

More than half of accurate shooting in the mental/physical aspects that go into shooting/shouldering the weapon and going through good, consistant shooting techniques. That is where practice comes in.