Powder burn ?

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Powder burn ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2013, 12:32 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 82 Times on 59 Posts

Default Powder burn ?

Wouldn't say I'm new to guns but don't really understand some things. Why is it that in a 357 magnum snubbie the recoil isn't much more than a .38? I believe I heard something about the powder not having long enough to explode or something. So would the recoil of a .357 magnum in a five inch barrel be alot more than the snubbie?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-28-2013, 02:51 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8712 Times on 3771 Posts
Likes Given: 1340

Recoil is governed by the weight and speed of the bullet, balanced by the weight of the firearm.

Many snubbies do not have enuff barrel- gasses are still expanding when bullets leave barrel. However, there are loads designed just for snubbies- faster burning powders, lighter bullets. That is where the 125 and 110 bullets came from- originally 357 was 158 gr.

I have some .357 loads you do NOT want to shoot in a snubby- trust me.

Try this- when you load the cylinder, load 2 357 rounds in separated position, fill in the holes with .38 Special. Spin cylinder, and without looking, close it. Now shoot. I think you WILL be able to pick out the magnums.

<--- Your Moderators at our weekly Troll Hunt

People Like This 
Old 07-28-2013, 03:41 PM   #3
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Liked 21348 Times on 12115 Posts
Likes Given: 53218