Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Newbie Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2010, 08:16 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Newbie Questions

This may sound like a stupid question but this brand new SIG Sauer P226 is indeed my first purchased gun so I am new to buying guns. The gun came well-lubricated in the box and it was purchased from Buds Gun Shop. I had to wipe some of the excess lubrication off the side of the slide upon removing it. I can also see how it is freshly lubricated in other areas (barrel, chamber, etc...). Is it safe for me to fire the gun with this lube on it? I'd assume this is a special non-flammable lubrication but I know regulars like WD-40 are very flammable. I also noticed that the manual itself said not to fire an overly lubricated gun.

My second question is, the manual says that me firing "reloaded" ammunition voids the warranty and is bad for the gun or could cause problems. It says in big letters to "Only use high quality, original, factory ammunition." I was planning on firing my range's ammo because that is what I fired in this exact gun that I rented from them. I fired 100 of those rounds with no problems. Is this a bad idea? I just wanted to do it for practice because it's cheap and I don't need special rounds to simply fire at targets. Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-14-2010, 08:46 PM   #2