Newbie here with some questions :) - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Newbie here with some questions :)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2011, 01:00 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

So today can be summed up in one word: awesome! I ended up just shooting 9mm guns just so that I was not buying different types of ammo. Next time ill be doing revolvers!

I ended up shooting the smith and wesson m&p, glock 17, springfield xd, and Springfield emp. All were very nice. The s&w emp felt the best out of them all, but for the retail price of $1200, ill put that one on the back burner for now. The one that would feel better in hand and price-wise would be the s&w m&p.

I didnt have as much time as i wanted to shoot them all because I was sharing the lane with 3 other friends for just 1 hour. But it was enough time for me to realize this is something I want to buy!

Old 02-20-2011, 01:03 AM   #22

Quote:
Originally Posted by General_lee View Post
I would try the Springfield 1911A1, Glock 17, Beretta 92FS, Bushmaster AR-15 (to get a feel for one of the long guns you WILL eventually buy ), Ruger GP100 and maybe A Sig or XD.
That'll give you a feel for some of the most popular firearms out there and will probably help you with your decision.

Good luck and welcome to a very addictive hobby!
I REALLY wanted to try the ruger gp100 but didnt have the time. Thats a definite for the next round.

Old 02-20-2011, 01:06 AM   #23

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackWidow View Post
You must shoot the S&W 617. It's a 6 or 10-shot .22 revolver with a 4" or 6" barrel. You can learn a lot about trigger control, breathing, stance, sighting, etc with this gun, and it won't be loud, won't hurt your hand, and won't spit hot brass on you.

Definitely also shoot the Glocks and 1911s. For pure fun, try shooting a lever-action rifle.