Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Newbie here with some questions :)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2008, 07:53 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Newbie here with some questions :)

So I am a complete newbie when it comes to firearms, but lately i have sparked an interest in firearms. Think it would be a fun hobby and skill to have. I've been doing a bunch of reading about what needs to be done, steps to take, things to consider, but still have some questions. I've kinda outlined what I've learned in regards to finding the right gun...

1. Determine the reason to buy a firearm
- Home/self defense, ccw, new activity, and use my second amendment of course!

2. Research the models/calibers
- Someone recommended starting with a .22 (Cheaper to practice)
- Possibly get a conversion kit if wanting to go to a .45
- Consider used for starter
- Need to have ambidextrious safety (I'm a lefty)

3. Before buying, take a safety class, and learn acuracy
- Safety: http://www.nrahq.org/education/training/find.asp
- Accuracy: i was told to search for The US Army Marksmanship Unit Manual

4. Go to a local range and rent a variety of models/calibers to see what feels most comfortable
- Located one in my area, check!

5. Then consider buying.
- Some brands I've seen mentioned are Beretta, Kimber, Springfield, S&W, Colt, Ruger, Marvel

And now for some questions...

Is it really recommended to start with a lower caliber? I was told that this is best because you'd be able to practice accuracy better since a .22 would have less feedback.

Are conversion kits worth it? Say its best to start with a .22, but in the end I'd rather have a .45. Would it be better to buy each separately?

I read that exposed hammers make the gun more reliable, true? I've been real interested in the 1911 because of its history to the USA, but read that glocks are more reliable?