Newbie here - advice appreciated! - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Newbie here - advice appreciated!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2010, 09:50 AM   #11
Retired
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3106 Times on 1785 Posts
Likes Given: 1320

I save the little dessicant packages that seem to be a pain (they're everywhere). Using the correct sized plastic box and lid, you have a neat way to store and label your handguns. Especially helpful if you lose electricity for a week or so cuz of a hurricane.

Amendment II:
"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."

Life Member NRA
Life Member NAHC
Former President of the ECPT (Eifel Combat Pistol Team)

Old 05-25-2010, 09:57 AM   #12

Liked 23 Times on 7 Posts

Sig slides are stainless - even the black ones, and the frames are alloy. The benefit of the conversion kit is you're shooting the same frame with the same grip, trigger, and controls. I have one for my 229 and it's fun to shoot...

Old 05-25-2010, 11:53 AM   #13

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Stainless is just what it says, stains less than carbon steel, but it will still rust.

Old 05-25-2010, 02:41 PM   #14

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGIB View Post
Sig slides are stainless - even the black ones, and the frames are alloy. The benefit of the conversion kit is you're shooting the same frame with the same grip, trigger, and controls. I have one for my 229 and it's fun to shoot...
Ditto what NGIB said--I have a Sig 220 45ACP and a .22 conversion for it--I like that I can practice with the same trigger, grip, safety, etc. for a ton less ammo costs, plus it's fun to shoot. Since you're in CA and can only have 10 round mags, why not try and shoot a Sig 220 in 45ACP and see how you like that? You can carry it with 9 rounds and have a better defensive weapon...