Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Newbie here - advice appreciated! (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/newbie-here-advice-appreciated-27524/)

NewGunz 05-24-2010 10:41 PM

Newbie here - advice appreciated!

I went to the local shooting range for the first time and fired 100 rounds with what I believe was a. 9mm SIG Sauer P220. I really liked it and I'd like to go a lot more in the future. Inorder to avoid rental fees and having to go with a buddy all the time, I want to buy a gun. I wanted to buy the P220 because I've heard great things about it and that I could get a .22 conversion kit for practice. But it turns out they only sell it in .45. Can I still do the conversion? Basically, I'm willing to dish out the cash for a good pistol that will serve me many years but I think a .45 is a bit much for my current skill level. Do you have any advice or recommendations for me? Thanks.

DrumJunkie 05-24-2010 10:45 PM

the 220 is a 45 ACP weapon. The 226 is made in 9mm and 40S&W. I believe there are 22 conversions for these but at the price they go for I'd be more inclined to get get a 22 pistol. Models like the Ruger MK III and Browning Buckmark are very affordable and gives you the option of having both weapons without having to take one down and convert it.

Oh..and stop by the intro threads. Let us know who you are :)

jakebrake 05-24-2010 10:55 PM

i agree with drum junkie on purchase of a 22. a conversion kit isn't cheap (i'm seeing one for 300+) a used a decent used 22 would probably set you back less.

the 226, however, is a very nice pistol. in 9mm (or 40), ammo won't break the bank, and the recoil isn't too heavy. just my opinion.

mesinge2 05-24-2010 11:00 PM