New to Handguns
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > New to Handguns

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2014, 03:13 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default New to Handguns

Hello all,

I am currently shopping around and researching different handguns for home defense and general range shooting. I do not intend to use this weapon as a concealed and carry firearm, more just for something to protect myself and my loved ones inside the home and on my property. The problem I'm facing is the overwhelming amount of firearms to choose from. I am new to handguns but not new to firearms (I own multiple rifles and a shotgun) and know there are some old standard names S&W, Colt, Ruger, etc., but am unsure of where to start. I'd like a reliable pistol for under $1000 and am not particular on wether it is a semi-automatic or a revolver. I understand there are pro's and cons to both. I also understand that there are pros and cons between the caliber choice as well. That being said I know this is a very loaded question and any advise would be very grateful. Thank you for the time.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-17-2014, 03:29 AM   #2

Liked 434 Times on 273 Posts
Likes Given: 1292

I would recommend going to your gun store and handling as many handguns as possible, narrow it down ATP a couple that suit your needs and if at all possible shoot the few you select.
Let me also recommend a glock 19 that is just one of my personal favorites but is not the end all be all pistols.

No Bells.No Whistles.Just perfection.