Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   New Gun Owner (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/new-gun-owner-42960/)

Newbie36 05-25-2011 01:29 AM

New Gun Owner

Hi All. Bought my first handgun today, a Taurus 38 Ultra Lite, new, in the box.. The guy that sold it to me threw in some bullets that don't look so new. I mean, they're not used but the box looks like it could be from a few years (decades) back. I want to go to a range and fire the gun. Um, as a newbie, I am um, a little scared the thing might blow up in my face or something. Wanna talk me out of that? Thanks.

big shrek 05-25-2011 01:37 AM

If the bullets don't come out of the case when you pull on 'em with your fingers, I'd use 'em.
But only for plinking at a 7 yard target. No telling how inert the powder may have gotten over the years.

Old ammo generally works just fine, as long as its quality ammo.
Unlikely to cause trouble in a revolver :)

Jesse17 05-25-2011 01:50 AM

Yes, what he said. I'm shooting .38 spl. ammo thats at least 20+ years old, and there is still some types of ammo from WWII around I believe, certainly Vietnam and older stuff if not.

Just make sure you stop and check the barrel if you fire one off and it's not as loud as you expected.

Welcome to the club! :)

fireguy 05-25-2011 01:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse17 (Post 511251)
Yes, what he said. I'm shooting .38 spl. ammo thats at least 20+ years old, and there is still some types of ammo from WWII around I believe, certainly Vietnam and older stuff if not.

Just make sure you stop and check the barrel if you fire one off and it's not as loud as you expected.

Welcome to the club! :)

And how do we want the new shooter to look into his barrel?
Please don't look into the business end of the barrel. Practice safe shooting.
Please.

Newbie36 05-25-2011 01:57 AM