Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Need help with choosing my first pistol (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/need-help-choosing-my-first-pistol-31296/)

southpaw41 09-03-2010 11:12 PM

Need help with choosing my first pistol

Hi Iím new to the board and would like your input on choosing my first pistol. Applied for my concealment permit two weeks ago so should be receiving it fairly soon. The gun will be used for the range and personal/home defense. I donít intend on carrying the pistol much unless I know I will be going to a bad area. Iíve hunted and been around firearms my whole life so I have some knowledge on the subject matter. After some research and thought here is what Iíve narrowed my choices down toÖ

Ruger GP100 KGP-141
Rugerģ GP100ģ Double-Action Revolver Models

S&W Model 686
Product: Model 686

S&W Model SW1911(probably 9mm)

Baretta PX4 Storm(probably 9mm)

Right now Iím leaning towards the SW 686 because I hear revolvers are nice beginner guns. My dad has a Ruger 44 magnum and I like it except it is not practical to carry because of its barrel length (and itís scoped). Also it seems revolvers are much easier to maintain than the semiís.

General-Logic 09-03-2010 11:33 PM

GP100
Easy to care for, reliable and powerful enough without being a bone shaker.

Mr. Bluesky 09-04-2010 12:30 AM

The Ruger will, generally speaking, be less expensive and just as good as the Smith. A GP100 with 4" barrel will do just about anything, and last long enough for your great-grandkids to shoot it.

ScottA 09-04-2010 02:15 AM

Like all the choices, but Baretta would be last choice.

My first choice would be the 1911. Just a great design. More concealable than the revolvers, and more rounds. And you'll shoot a lot more 9mm for the money.

General_lee 09-04-2010 02:33 AM