Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Need help with advice on my trigger. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/need-help-advice-my-trigger-81649/)

KJH_1185 01-17-2013 08:04 PM

Need help with advice on my trigger.

I have a smith and wesson sd 40 ve. The trigger pull is definetly a bit rough but not too bad. I am curious to see if there are any trigger kits or conversions out there that will lighten it up a bit. Ive heard the apex spring kit works great but i have zero experience with gun alterations or modifications. Any suggestions?

robocop10mm 01-17-2013 08:38 PM

I hear good things about the Apex kits. If you are not mechanically inclined, you may want to find someone who is. The Sigma series are pretty simple, to me, but I am a factory trained armorer on several different platforms.

The VE series are inexpensive guns. Reliable and accurate, but the triggers are betond terrible.

KJH_1185 01-17-2013 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by robocop10mm
I hear good things about the Apex kits. If you are not mechanically inclined, you may want to find someone who is. The Sigma series are pretty simple, to me, but I am a factory trained armorer on several different platforms.

The VE series are inexpensive guns. Reliable and accurate, but the triggers are betond terrible.

Ok gotcha. What if I brought it to a gunsmith? Would it be expensive and would I still need to buy the kit? Pardon my new guy questions.

mountainman13 01-17-2013 10:49 PM

The apex kits typically run around $120 installed (by me) and bring the pull down to around 4.25 lbs unless it is strictly for idpa. Unfortunately like most things, they are just about impossible to get right now. I had to turn down 2 trigger jobs this week because I can't get parts.

KJH_1185 01-17-2013 10:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mountainman13