Looking for reccomendations.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Looking for reccomendations.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2008, 07:03 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Looking for reccomendations.

Hello all, I just recently got into shooting and I don't have a clue of where to start. I bought my first gun on a whim as it seemed like it was a good deal. I would like to continue to make wise purchases as I buy more guns. So my question is this. What do you recommend? I am a gun newbie and I know very little about them. I have only shot 3 guns in my entire life and they were all .22 long rifles. I am wanting to buy a hand gun and was leaning toward one that takes .22 long bullets so I can use the same ammo in both my Marlin model 60 and whatever I get next.
I will mainly use the gun for target practice. I am trying to keep the money as low as possible without getting something that is unreliable and will be a headache to clean, maintain, and use. Well I hope you all will help to steer me in the right direction. Thanks.

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-16-2008, 11:44 AM   #2

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

A Ruger Single Six might suit you well. It's a single action .22 revolver (you have to manually cock the hammer before each shot) that is simple to shoot and maintain. Prices aren't bad on new ones and you should be able to track down a used one with some effort.