Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Looking for a handgun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/looking-handgun-12620/)

DustyDavis83 04-06-2009 02:24 PM

Looking for a handgun

Im new to all this, Looking to buy my first handgun. Ive been thinking about 9mm or a .40cal.
im getting my CHL in about 2 weeks

im 25 about 190lb

i like the smith and wesson S&W M&P9 209301 9MM 4.25 17R
http://world.guns.ru/handguns/sw-mp-auto.jpg

they make it in 9x19mm Luger/Parabellum, .357SIG, .40S&W
Do yall think i should stick with a 9mm for my first handgun?

Thanks
Dusty

Franciscomv 04-06-2009 04:39 PM

The M&P is quite nice, as far as plastic pistols go. I'm waiting for the paperwork to come through on a full size 9mm one. Have you had a chance to handle it? If it feels comfortable, go for it. It's a good gun.

About your caliber choice, while 9mm isn't my favourite is has some advantages, like price. It's the most affordable of the SD rounds, and with the right bullet it's quite good.

If you're not set on the M&P, you should check out some other options, like CZ's. Model 75 is a very good handgun, you can get it with a decocker (and carry it with the hammer down, for a double action first shot) or you can get the single action version, which you can carry "cocked and locked".

WDB 04-07-2009 02:33 AM

THe S&W M&P is a good pistol, I have one in 45 and a compact 9mm. They are my carry pistols. I trily like the feel of them and the abliity to replace the back strap to fit your hand.

Best advice is to find a range that rents pistols and shoot as many as possible. While I expect the M&P will remain a top choice you might find something else that you like even more.

Good luck and let us know what you buy.

oldandslow 04-07-2009 02:47 AM

DD, 4/7/09