Info on George A. Wilson .45 Target Pistols
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > Info on George A. Wilson .45 Target Pistols

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2008, 06:46 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Info on George A. Wilson .45 Target Pistols

I am new to computers but am using this forum to seek information on some fasinating pistols. I am a retired farmer from Iowa with a life long interest in guns. I am a professional member of the Firearms Engravers Guild and the American Custom Gunmakers Guild and an NRA Life member. Currently I am engraving custom revolvers and have quite a backlog. Now for the information I am seeking. I read an article in 1961 Guns and Ammo about Mr. George A. Wilson from Pittsburg, Penn. and the three .45 target pistols that he made at that time. That article showed several pictures of a very unique design. The main features were that the slide worked on rails on the barrel and the barrel slid on grooves in the frame. The slide did not come back over the web of the hand but rather stayed within the frame and the dual hammers were internal and on the side ahead of the magazine well. I am currently making a pistol with those features but would really like to see how Mr. Wilson went about things. I have wanted to just see those pistols since the day I read that article and would travel anywhere to see them. I am sure the present owner is extremely proud of them and I just would hope to see them and study them. Number 2 and 3 were a matched set and an improvement on the first one. Those two are the ones I wish most to see. My email is dalofa@netins.net. Dan Love

Last edited by matt g; 11-24-2008 at 07:04 PM. Reason: cell number removed to prevent misuse

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.