Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Handgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   I'm going to Iraq and need help choosing a hand gun. (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f14/im-going-iraq-need-help-choosing-hand-gun-1656/)

kerensky 08-12-2007 11:17 PM

I'm going to Iraq and need help choosing a hand gun.

I'm going to be going to Iraq as a civilian contractor. And will be in dangerous situations on occasion. So I would like your guy's help selecting a good handgun for protection. I am smaller guy about 5'10 and 150 lbs. I have never used handguns before but I am failure with rifles. I spent a short time in the Marines, before my medical discharge.

I need something that is Accurate, but also carry some punch too it. I've been looking at a 9mm or something comparable. Id like a desert eagle however i think the desert eagle would be a little large for me and impractical.

Any advice or help would be great. Also any ideas on good places to purchase them and general prices. I'm looking at around 600 or so i might be able to budget up to 1k. I would also need spare magazines, would like to have plenty of rounds in case something does happens.

Thanks
Steve

ranger_sxt 08-12-2007 11:32 PM

Glock 19. Magazines should be easy to get replacements for on the economy, and you can get ammunition through US Government supply channels.

Just be sure that your employer will allow you to carry weapons.

notdku 08-13-2007 01:23 AM

Which company are you going to work for?

kerensky 08-13-2007 02:01 AM

probably KBR... i havn't finalized everything out specificly. My brother was in the Army in Iraq and he said it was pretty safe. but i'd rather have it and not need it rather than not.

notdku 08-13-2007 06:08 AM

So your going to go to Iraq and once there find a contractor to work for?

RMTactical 08-15-2007 07:52 PM

Glock.