Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > General Handgun Discussion > I need cleaning help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2008, 02:12 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default I need cleaning help

I am new to hand guns and need some help with cleaning. I have a Glock 23 & a HK USP 45. The Glock is only a month old, so basically new, and I used it for my pistol basics class. The HK is from 95, but my FFL guy said the gun looks like it might have had 2-300 rounds through it. No marks, no scuffs, nothing, looks and fires perfect.

I have a bore snake and I know how to use it properly. I know about oiling the rails. How do I properly use a nylon brush? What parts do I clean with it? Do I use it with any type of liquid or solvent? Any suggestions on a cleaning rag/towel or will a regular kitchen towel work?

Any other cleaning suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-09-2008, 02:26 AM   #2

Default Cleaning help

I am new to hand guns and need some help with cleaning. I have a Glock 23 & a HK USP 45. The Glock is only a month old, so basically new, and I used it for my pistol basics class. The HK is from 95, but my FFL guy said the gun looks like it might have had 2-300 rounds through it. No marks, no scuffs, nothing, looks and fires perfect.